Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

A link has been emailed to you – check your inbox.

A link has been emailed to you – check your inbox.
Home   News   Article
Polling stations across the Highlands opened at 7am today with voters electing representatives on Highland Council.
Sites, including many schools, will be open until 10pm for votes to be cast.
Councillors are elected using the single transferable voting system whereby people mark their ballot paper by ranking as many or as few candidates on the ballot in preferential order 1, 2, 3, 4 and so on.
Highland Council’s Caol and Mallaig ward is uncontested because there weren’t enough candidates nominated to justify a vote. It means these councillors will represent that area: Andrew Baldrey (Scottish Greens – Delivering For Our Community), John Colin Grafton (Scottish Liberal Democrats) and Liz Saggers (Scottish Conservative and Unionist).
Votes will be counted and declared tomorrow.
Related article: Watch: How to vote in the local authority election and why each vote cast should be made in order of preference because X no longer marks the spot