COVID-19: travel from third countries into the EU –

We use cookies in order to ensure that you can get the best browsing experience possible on the Council website. Certain cookies are used to obtain aggregated statistics about website visits to help us constantly improve the site and better serve your needs. Other cookies are used to boost performance and guarantee security of the website.
With your permission, we will use AT internet cookies to produce aggregated, anonymous data about our visitors’ browsing and behaviour on our website. We will use this data to improve your experience on our website.
To get more information about these cookies, how and why we use them and how you can change your settings, check our cookies policy page.
European Council
Council of the European Union
The European Council
The Council of the EU
EU Policies
Feature stories
Meeting calendar
EU leaders' meetings
Ministerial and other meetings
Latest news
Audiovisual resources
Press service
Council Library services
Travellers should be allowed to enter the EU if they have:
Member states should use the EU digital COVID certificate or third- country equivalent certificates as proof of vaccination and recovery.
Essential travellers should always be allowed to travel into the EU, regardless of where they are travelling from.
Who is considered to be an essential traveller?
Every two weeks, the EU reviews the list of third countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted, based on common criteria.

All travellers from third countries on the EU list should be allowed to travel into the EU.
By 30 April 2022, the European Commission will assess whether to keep the list.
Member states may require a negative PCR test taken at the earliest 72 hours before departure for all travellers, except for those vaccinated with an EU-approved vaccine.
Member states may require:
Children over 6 and under 18 should be allowed to travel if they:
No test or additional requirements should be applied to children under the age of 6.
An urgent, temporary restriction on all travel into the EU from a third country can be adopted by a member state:
The emergency brake should not apply to:
Such restrictions should be reviewed at least once every 2 weeks. If the emergency brake is triggered, EU countries should discuss possible coordinated measures in the Council, in cooperation with the European Commission.
More information:
Subscription options
Is there something wrong with this page?
We want to hear your feedback about our website.
This will help us improve your experience.
Please take a few minutes to complete a survey at the end of your visit.
About the secretariat
Corporate policies
Email subscription
Sign up to receive our email and SMS alerts
About this site
This website is the official website of the Council of the EU and the European Council. It is managed by the General Secretariat of the Council, the body of staff responsible for assisting the Council of the EU and the European Council.
Follow us